top of page
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • LinkedIn

Jumps Racing Made Simple

There are quite a few differences between National Hunt racing and Flat racing (besides the obvious that one involves jumping obstacles and the other does not). Jumps racing is split into different grades and classes; the same as flat however, a completely different meaning to each one. Grade 1 (Class 1) are the championship races with the biggest prizes and best horses. There are only 30 of these all season. There are also Grade 2, Grade 3, and listed races. Class 2 - 5 are classified by different handicaps and Class 6 are National Hunt Flat races and Hunter's Steeplechases. 

Races are run over a set of obstacles or jumps; hurdles and fences. Different obstacles are used in different races such as Bumpers, Hurdles, Steeplechases, and Handicaps. Jump racing takes place all year round however traditionally begins in Autumn and runs through to the Spring. National Hunt racing references to its origin and is a true test of stamina and ability to jump and therefore horses are a bit older than flat horses. Speed does play a part however, this is only really tested in the last few furlongs of a race.