What's On

Thu 25 Oct 2018

Thursday 25th October

Mon 12 Nov 2018

Monday 12th November

Head to Southwell for the first All-Weather fixture of the winter season on the Fibresand.

Thu 15 Nov 2018

Thursday 15th November

All-Weather racing in the heart of rural Nottinghamshire.

Tue 20 Nov 2018

Tuesday 20th November

Jumps racing in the heart of rural Nottinghamshire.

Tue 27 Nov 2018

Tuesday 27th November

All-Weather racing in the heart of rural Nottinghamshire.

Fri 30 Nov 2018

Friday 30th November

All-Weather racing in the heart of rural Nottinghamshire.

Tue 04 Dec 2018

Tuesday 4th December

Jumps racing in the heart of rural Nottinghamshire.

Tue 11 Dec 2018

Tuesday 11th December

All-Weather racing in the heart of rural Nottinghamshire.

Sun 16 Dec 2018

Gentlemen's Day

Featured Event

Gentlemen's Day, a popular day in the calendar for all at Southwell.

Tue 18 Dec 2018

Tuesday 18th December

All-Weather racing in the heart of rural Nottinghamshire.

Thu 20 Dec 2018

Thursday 20th December

All-Weather racing in the heart of rural Nottinghamshire.

Fri 21 Dec 2018

Festive Fixture

Featured Event

Festive, All-Weather racing in the heart of rural Nottinghamshire.

Sat 29 Dec 2018

Festive Fixture

Featured Event

Festive, All-Weather racing in the heart of rural Nottinghamshire.

Tue 01 Jan 2019

New Year's Day Festive Fixture

Featured Event

Great racing, great atmosphere and a great day out guaranteed at our ever popular New Year's Day meeting. What a way to start 2019 and cure those New Year's Eve hangovers!!

Enclosures

Where to be for the best views

Grandstand Enclosure

This is often referred to as the Tattersalls Enclosure at other racecourses. This enclosure gives you access to the Grandstand and most the ground floors.

Premier Enclosure

This gives you access to all public areas.

Occupation Lane, Rolleston, NG25 0TS
Larger map

Travel Information

How to find us

Directions

By Train

The nearest station is Rolleston which is adjacent to the course. Rolleston Train Station lies on the Nottingham to Lincoln line. If you arrive at Newark Station, then it is about a 9 mile journey to Racecourse Road, Southwell. Additional train services run on racedays calling at Rolleston, in line with the first and last race times.

By Car

From the M1 south: Leave the M1 at Junction 21A and join the A46 towards Newark. Continue on the A46 to Newark, on approaching the roundabout junction with the B6166 take the first exit still on the A46. At the next roundabout take the first exit onto the A617 towards Mansfield and Southwell. On approaching Southwell turn left onto Racecourse Lane and drive for 2 miles.

From the A1: Continue on the A1 to the Newark junction with the A46. Join the A46 towards Nottingham, at the roundabout take the third exit onto the A617 towards Mansfield and Southwell. Turn left onto the A612 signposted Southwell. On approaching Southwell turn left onto Racecourse Lane and drive for 2 miles.

Due to local authority restrictions, Occupation Lane and Station Road in Rolleston cannot be used as a means of access for Sunday race meetings

Parking

Parking is free.

Dress Codes

What to wear

Customers in the Premier Enclosure and all hospitality areas are respectfully asked to refrain from wearing T-shirts, shorts or training shoes. Casual wear is acceptable in the Grandstand Enclosure.

Racecourse Information

The History

Southwell Racecourse is a thoroughbred racing venue, located near Newark-on-Trent. In 1989 it became an all-weather racecourse and is now one of only 5 racecourses in the UK to have an all-weather track and is the only one with a fibresand surface. The unique fibresand surface is deep and so makes the track a good stamina test. National Hunt racing is also held at this venue. Situated just 7 miles from Newark and 15 miles from Nottingham and set in 145 acres of beautiful Nottinghamshire countryside, Southwell Racecourse is a stunning location that has been steeped in history since its very first race meeting, on 16th May 1898.