What's On

Tue 19 Dec 2017

Christmas Meeting

Mon 01 Jan 2018

New Year's Day

Mon 22 Jan 2018

Monday 22nd January

Wed 07 Feb 2018

Wednesday 7th February

Fri 16 Feb 2018

Lycetts Raceday

Fri 16 Mar 2018

Totepool Silver Cup Day

Mon 02 Apr 2018

Easter Monday

Tue 08 May 2018

The Snellings Norfolk National

Featured Event
Sun 03 Jun 2018

Jarrold Ladies Day

Fri 19 Oct 2018

At the Races Raceday

Wed 31 Oct 2018

Wednesday 31st October

Tue 20 Nov 2018

Tuesday 20th November

Tue 04 Dec 2018

Tuesday 4th December

Tue 18 Dec 2018

Christmas Meeting

The Racecourse, Fakenham, Norfolk, NR21 7NY
Larger map

Travel Information

How to find us

Directions

By Train

Closest train stations to the racecourse are Kings Lynn (20m) and Norwich (25).

Bus

Bus Route from Norwich to Fakenham is the X29 Bus Route from Kings Lynn to Fakenham is the X8

By Road

The Racecourse is 1 mile South of town on the B1146 (East Dereham road). On Racedays follow the AA Yellow Signs that will direct you towards the designated access into the racecourse. PLEASE NOTE: Sat-Navs may direct you to the wrong entrance. For the Pudding Norton Entrance please use the postcode NR21 7NA and for the Town Centre / Jewsons Entrance please use NR21 7NY.

Dress Codes

What to wear

Fakenham Racecourse does not have a dress code policy but smart casual attire is recommended. As racing predominantly takes place in winter months it is advised that you dress to be warm and comfortable – suitably attired to cope with all weathers. Gentlemen usually wear a suit or a jacket in the members enclosure or any other hospitality areas. Ladies are encouraged to dress for the weather – ensure that you are warm and comfortable while you enjoy a spot of racing. There are many grass areas at the Racecourse, so please be cautious with stiletto heels if it is wet. On Ladies Day it is advised to dress for the occasion with suit & a tie for gentlemen and smart dresses for the ladies.

Racecourse Information

The History

Fakenham racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Fakenham, Norfolk, England.Racing first took place at Fakenham on Easter Monday after the West Norfolk Hunt took a committee decision to transfer their race meeting from East Winch, near King’s Lynn. This first meeting in 1905 attracted 37 runners and considering the travelling difficulties in those days, confirmed the excellent local support for the transfer to Fakenham. Just the one meeting per year was held on Easter Monday with racing continuing every year except for enforced breaks during war years. Today the course is left-handed, almost square in shape, with a circumference of about a mile. The steeplechase course is situated to the outside of the hurdle course and consists of six fences per circuit, with the open ditch as the penultimate obstacle.